Temple Wood Stone Circles
List of Sites
Remains of two stone circles lie within sight of Kilmartin's linear cemetery and Nether Largie standing stones. Excavations in 1929 and 1974-9 revealed a sequence of use over at least 2,000 years. One circle may date to 3,500. Burials and pottery associated with the other are over 1000 years younger.
This is one of the few key sites around Kilmartin which has been treated to a thorough, modern excavation. Several features give an Irish flavour to this west coast monument. It is thought that the northern circle was constructed to align with the mid-day sun on the winter solstice.
At the heart of the complex known as the 'Linear Cemetery', Temple Wood was used several times in different ways over a period of 2000 years after the first construction, from around 3500 BC to 1400 BC. It found a new use when someone deposited a hoard of coins there in the ninth century.
Managed by Historic Scotland, this site is fully accessible, including disabled carpark and gate.
- RCAHMS Argyll vol. 6 no. 228
- PSAS 64 (1929-30) p130-1
- PSAS 95 (1960-1) p18 no. 122
- GAJ vol 15 p53-125
Check out the following sections of the website for related information
Mid-Argyll Sites and Artefacts
Mayo - Vestvågøy - Mid-Argyll
This project has been supported by the EU as part of the Culture 2000 programme.